OFT Statement on the Ohio State Board of Education 

Share This


November 15, 2021

Contact: Ohio Federation of Teachers: Neil Bhaerman, 412-266-4899, nbhaerman@oft-aft.org 

Ohio Federation of Teachers Statement on the Ohio State Board of Education 

Today, the Ohio State Board of Education voted to select Charlotte McGuire and Steve Dackin as the new President and Vice President of the Board. Ohio Federation of Teachers President Melissa Cropper released the following statement:

“We remain disappointed that the former President of the state Board of Education and another member of the Board were forced to resign for their support of a resolution that deals with antiracism and equity. Less than a year and a half ago, that resolution passed with support from 12 Board members, yet today support for that resolution is enough reason for the Senate supermajority to eject members from the Board. This change in opinion is due to a concerted misinformation campaign and politicization of Ohio schools, which has served to benefit special interests while ignoring the needs of Ohio students.  

We believe that it doesn’t have to be this way. Just a few years ago, educators, parents, students, community members, and politicians were able to come together and develop a consensus strategic plan that works for the best interests of Ohio’s children. We hope that continuing to enact the vision of that strategic plan can be the common ground that brings us together. 

We look forward to working with Board President McGuire and Vice President Dackin, new members Brandon Kern and Richard Chernesky, and the rest of the state school board members to address the immediate challenges that Ohio students and schools are facing, including labor shortages, public health precautions, and increased student behavior issues.”