Congratulations to Our 2019 Tom Mooney Memorial Scholarship Winners

Share This

Congratulations to our 2019 Tom Mooney Memorial Scholarship winners: Lily Pedrotti and Kaitlin Richards.
Lily will be attending the University of Dayton and will major in early childhood education. Both of her parents are teachers and her mother is a gifted intervention specialist at New Lebanon Local Schools and a member of New Lebanon Federation of Teachers.
Kaitlin will be attending Kent State University in the fall majoring in early childhood education. Her father, Kurt Richards, is an active member and officer of the Cleveland Teachers Union. 
The Tom Mooney Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in December 2006 to honor late OFT President Tom Mooney's legacy in public education and union work, and to help others pursue his passions for social justice and political action. The Tom Mooney Memorial Scholarship Fund Committee selects an annual Mooney Scholar to receive a $2,000 scholarship. The scholarship is intended to provide an opportunity to a graduating senior from a public high school who plans to pursue a degree in education, history, labor studies or political science. An applicant must be the child of a member (in good standing) of the Ohio Federation of Teachers or the child of any staff person who is employed by OFT or its locals. 
Applications for the 2020 Tom Mooney Memorial Scholarship will be open next spring.